ITIL Certifications: A Ready Guide

ITIL Certifications

ITIL or the IT Infrastructure Library in the expanded form is a set of practices used to deliver information technology as a service to customers. How does it work? The framework breaks down IT service management into different stages. These include service selection, delivery, planning, and maintenance, along with guidance for each phase.

How is it useful, and why are more organizations aiming to get an ITIL certification these days? The idea behind ITIL practices is to improve the efficiency of IT service management (ITSM) in your organization. It also promotes organizations to bring a predictable pattern and similarity between their service delivery and the business goals. ITIL is one of the most coveted among all IT certifications.

It is not without reason. The benefits it provides are too great to ignore. ITIL not only aids businesses in managing their risks but also develops the relationship between the business and customers. Moreover, it promotes cost-effective practices. Overall, it creates a stable and hassle-free IT environment with enough room for growth and flexibility.

Constant upgrades are a major strength of ITIL. ITIL V4 was updated in February 2019 by the Axelos courses. The updates emphasize on strengthening agility and innovation in ITSM.

The Principles

The Principles

The original intention behind creating the ITSM principles was to facilitate the optimum utilization of IT by businesses.

ITIL certifications provide in-depth knowledge about how ITIL is used to restructure important aspects of your business. It aims to structure organizations and people, information and technology, partners and suppliers, and value streams and processes. This process happens in six phases:


1. Planning

This is the first phase in which the team understands the organization’s long-term goals and how ITIL can be effectively used to fulfill them.

Furthermore, they also have to understand the effects of the services, who are affected by them, and the four dimensions of the business. Once these factors are understood, the team decides how to build the required service. The ITIL foundation covers all these aspects in detail.

2. Engagement

Once the planning process begins, the service teams then get in touch with stakeholders within and outside the organization. The stakeholders then get an idea about the project's goals.

They then further the process by giving feedback and suggesting modifications wherever necessary.

3. Designing

Now comes the actual application part. The team decides the appearance and structure of the new systems. They also set targets and prerequisites such as the satisfaction of customers and compliances with regulations and policies.

4. Building the Service

The team collects all the resources. It includes people and technology, which will facilitate the design completion. It could either mean that they develop their technology or buy existing ones.

5. Delivery of the Service

Once the design is ready, it is time to deliver it to the organization as per the four dimensions discussed earlier.

6. Improvement and Modifications

It is the most important phase. It is an ideal opportunity to evaluate your performance. The drawbacks can be improved, the strengths maintained, and minor alterations can be made as required. This phase determines the next, and should be taken seriously.

Which ITIL Certification to Choose?

Which ITIL Certification to Choose

The benefits are numerous, as discussed above. It increases productivity, manages risks, and promotes cost-effective methods of business. But which ITIL certification should you get?

  • ITIL Foundation

It is an introductory course. This ITIL course online shows that you have a solid understanding of ITIL processes and management. If you wish to delve deeper into ITIL, this is your starting point.

  • ITIL Courses for Professionals

If your level is higher, this course is for you. It is for professionals who are already working in the IT sector.

  • ITIL for Leaders

This Axelos certification provides the knowledge of an interplay between business strategy and IT. The completion of this course is evidence that you can effectively merge the concepts of IT and business strategy.

  • ITIL at a Masters Level

It is the most advanced ITIL certification. If you have completed the Master’s level course, it means that you have now learned to apply business strategy and IT to achieve the specific goals set by your business.

The benefits of ITIL certification are many. Along with the advantages it provides, it significantly improves your employability and credibility. The ITIL V4 certification especially increases the chances of higher salaries. Those in positions which require ITIL V4 expertise earn an annual salary of a whopping $99,000.

You now know everything about ITIL. The boost it will give to your career is unimaginable. Decide the appropriate certification for you and get started on it. It is important to upgrade yourself and enhance your career prospects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.